PowerHouse Tae Kwon Do Powerhouse TKD logo


The Grading system is made up of coloured belts with coloured tags being used to identify part grading between belts.

Starting at yellow belt there are a sequence taegeuks (patterns) which take you up to black belt. You will need a new taegeuk at each grade after yellow belt but you must not forget the earlier ones. if you need to check up on the moves of a pattern then all the moves for all the patterns can be found at the Kukkiwon website. Do not go ahead of the pattern you need, you could be easily confused.

In order to find the patterns on the Kukkiwon website navigate to taekwondo techniques under the information section at the left of the page and Taekwondo techniques and then Poomsae in the body of the frame. Be sure to wait for each to fully load before clicking each link as the site can take some time to load. Select which pattern to view in the blue box that will pop up. For yellow belts select Taeguk 1 Jang, and pay careful attention to direction and hand position. do not learn ahead of the pattern you need for your next grading.

With the temporary cancellation of classes we thought it would be useful to provide you with some helpful links to the patterns you will need for grading. The links cover the taegeuk patterns and koryo, and are all from the same source site. The pages contain links to youtube videos from kukkiwon and other places, as well as my favourite birds-eye view / colourized diagrams and step-by-step instructions:
Tagekuk 1:Taegeuk Il Jang.
Tagekuk 2:Taegeuk Ee Jang.
Tagekuk 3:Taegeuk Sam Jang.
Tagekuk 4:Taegeuk Sa Jang.
Tagekuk 5:Taegeuk Oh Jang.
Tagekuk 6:Taegeuk Yook Jang.
Tagekuk 7:Taegeuk Chil Jang.
Tagekuk 8:Taegeuk Pal Jang.
Another great video which is just briiliant and shows the application of Koryo.. enjoy: Koryo Application.